Review: Rise of the Darklings

Rise of the Darklings
Rise of the Darklings by Paul Crilley
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Another fun audio-book for the commute.

I finished listening to this book today on my drive to work. Honestly, it’s proving difficult to decide how I feel about it.

Rise of the Darklings is a young adult fantasy about an orphaned 12-year-old girl who must protect her brother and the city of London from an ongoing war between two factions of faerie-kind and a small group of humans called the Invisible Order.

I enjoyed the book, but it left much to be desired. On the one hand, I liked the different faerie creatures and the Victorian London setting. I enjoyed the characters of Corrigan (a piskie) and Mr. Pemberton (a gnome). Their sarcasm and eccentricities offered a splash of character to an otherwise average cast. The other characters hinted at some depth of personality, but we never get to see those personalities develop much. I felt the same way about the plot. Crilley explains just enough that the story makes sense, but not enough to feel immersed in the conflict.

The story is adequate, which is the most frustrating part of all for me, because it contains the unnecessary framework for a fantastic story. In short, I would recommend this book to fans of the genre, but with a warning to not get your hopes up. In short, I would recommend this book to fans of the genre, but with a warning to not get your hopes up too high.

View all my reviews

About Jonathan

I am a man whose life has been profoundly changed by a beautiful woman, 5 amazing kids, the gospel of Jesus Christ, and Leadership Education.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

