Review: The Tao of Pooh

The Tao of Pooh
The Tao of Pooh by Benjamin Hoff
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I nearly gave this book a 5, and it might deserve it.

The Tao of Pooh is a simple, clear presentation of many of the ideas of Taoism. Using the world of Pooh as the vehicle is brilliant. In fact, I have never liked Winnie the Pooh, but seeing Pooh, Piglet, Rabbit, et al. from the perspective offered by Hoff, I want to read all of the stories in the Hundred Acre Woods.

Beyond that, Hoff reminded me of the aspects of the Tao that I loved when I read Lao Tzu about a year ago. I love the simplicity it teaches. I think the idea to understand and follow who we really are is imperative to the health of individuals and society. I also think that one of the most important keys to happiness is the ability to be present, to enjoy who, what, when, and where you are.

I’ll post more on this book, because it is one of those sweet, little gems that has the ability to transform lives. As I ponder the things I read in this book, my mind makes connections with other works and new ideas come to me and inspire me to live more in tune with who I’m supposed to be.

I highly recommend this book. It should only take a couple of hours or so to read, but it will be well worth the time.

View all my reviews

About Jonathan

I am a man whose life has been profoundly changed by a beautiful woman, 5 amazing kids, the gospel of Jesus Christ, and Leadership Education.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

