Review: How to Win Friends and Influence People

How to Win Friends and Influence People
How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I avoided reading this book for many years. I was under the impression that it taught salesmen how to manipulate others. I was dead wrong.

Carnegie’s insistence that our success is determined by our ability to sincerely care for others and put their comfort and ego before our own is the most prominent theme in my mind after reading this book.

I enjoyed the many stories he shares and the principles they deliver. I hope to apply them in my life, but I know that will take time. I’m certain that I will be re-reading this book more than once.

I’ll share a few favorite quotes.

The first quote demonstrates clarifies my previously stated misconception about this book:

Remember, we all crave appreciation and recognition, and will do almost anything to get it. But nobody wants insincerity. Nobody wants flattery.

Let me repeat: The principles taught in this book will work only when they come from the heart. I am not advocating a bag of tricks. I am talking about a new way of life.

The second quote follows the first and explains why we should be interested in changing our life this way:

Talk about changing people. If you and I will inspire the people with whom we come in contact to a realization of the hidden treasures they possess, we can do far more than change people. We can literally transform them.

Carnegie then shares this quote by William James:

Compared with what we ought to be, we are only half awake. We are making use of only a small part of our physical and mental resources. Stating the thing broadly, the human individual thus lives far within his limits. He possesses powers of various sorts which he habitually fails to use.

In a biographical section included in the book, Lowell Thomas writes of Dale Carnegie:

Dale Carnegie would tell you that he made a living all these years, not by teaching public speaking-that was incidental. His main job was to help people conquer their fears and develop courage.

What a beautiful mission, powerful, and important mission-to help people conquer their fears and self-imposed limitations by developing courage and nurturing relationships around them!

I’m grateful he fulfilled that mission and I hope to play a similar role during my life.

I highly recommend that everyone read this book!

View all my reviews

About Jonathan

I am a man whose life has been profoundly changed by a beautiful woman, 5 amazing kids, the gospel of Jesus Christ, and Leadership Education.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

