Review: A Month of Italy: Rediscovering the Art of Vacation

A Month of Italy: Rediscovering the Art of Vacation
A Month of Italy: Rediscovering the Art of Vacation by Chris Brady
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

What a great book!

Chris Brady spent a month in Italy with his family and after returning home he found it difficult to explain the experience.

He wrote in Chapter 38:

It would require a whole book to convey what I saw, smelled, tasted, felt, experienced, learned, and gained. I would have to take some serious time to reflect on just what it was that made this the best month of my life. I’d have to find the means to tell the story in a way to help the other person benefit from my experience. I wanted to let people know there is a way to sharpen the saw and come back with a more effective edge than ever. I wanted people to rediscover the art of vacation.

Mission accomplished.

I learned valuable lessons about how to prepare more effectively for and take the fullest advantage of a vacation. I felt rejuvenated after accompanying Chris through the experiences he shared. I felt a conviction to live better in what he calls “the spaces in between.”

There is so much more I could say about this book and I think everyone should read it, but I’ll wrap up with two points.

I love Chris Brady’s witty humor. I’m not sure how to explain it, but what I appreciate most about his jokes, sarcasm, or timely reintroduction of a previous idea or experience, is that they are windows to who Chris Brady is. This book is genuine, and humor plays a major role in transmitting that sincerity.

The second point is that I would love to read a history book written by Chris. I wish I was there in Rome or in the countryside with Chris sharing the battles, political intrigue, artistic influences, etc. He shares that knowledge in a way that is engaging and enjoyable.

I shouldn’t be surprised. I mean we’re talking about a guy that can speak about economics while making it relatable and enjoyable for the average Joe. I would love to read more from him about history – whether about Europe, the US, religion, or war.

View all my reviews

About Jonathan

I am a man whose life has been profoundly changed by a beautiful woman, 5 amazing kids, the gospel of Jesus Christ, and Leadership Education.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

