Review: L.I.F.E. Living Intentionally For Excellence

L.I.F.E. Living Intentionally For Excellence
L.I.F.E. Living Intentionally For Excellence by Chris Brady
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Another great book by Orrin Woodward and Chris Brady!

It took me a while to really get into this book. I think it was the format. There are many “chapters” that are usually only one to four pages long. Between these are a page or two that contain Chris and Orrin’s tweets.

I think I wanted a book into which I could immerse myself, but the frequent change in format proved a series of speed bumps.

This turns out to be a good thing! One lesson repeated often by the Policy Council members of LIFE is that reading without application of what you “learn” is really just a pass-time. True scholars and leaders take time to ponder what they read, identify the one or two principles most needing application or improvement in their own life, and get to work to improve those things.

Tim Marks is a fantastic example of this, and I recommend his book Voyage of a Viking.

By the end of this book I had fallen in love with the format. It makes it very applicable to daily devotionals, use as a thought-provoking coffee table book, or a “text-book” for personal study. The reader can pat himself on the back during the chapters that he is living the principles well, and  on those sections where he needs improvement he can slow down, plan, and implement.

I appreciate that this book never deviates from the mission of its authors. Orrin Woodward and Chris Brady have dedicated their lives and resources to helping others live better lives. They focus on the 8 F’s of LIFE: Faith, Family, Finances, Fitness, Following (leadership), Freedom, Friends, and Fun.

I love each of these areas of focus, and I have a special passion for Freedom. One of the reasons that God put me on Earth is to move the cause of liberty through education. I have gone back to school, traveled to the other side of the globe, participated in different levels of politics, currently serve as Precinct Committeeman and State Committeeman, started and participated in study groups focused on the US Constitution, and more.

I have found NOTHING as effective as the products and culture of LIFE at helping me educate myself and others on the principles of liberty. It’s amazing to see some of my rough edges whittle away so that I can better present the message in my heart without offending others. It’s awesome to see others’ eyes open to the war being waged against our political, financial, and spiritual freedoms.

And the most amazing part is that instead of just feeling anger and frustration about the erosion of our liberty, this curriculum also helps us know what to do about it!

The message of liberty runs through this book like a healthy vein of gold. The reader doesn’t have to dig long before running back into the message of freedom. It even ends with that message.

The last one page “chapter” in this book, entitled Answering Liberty’s Distress Signal, explains that success is deliberate. It is not something that happens to others more fortunate than us. Success is there for anyone willing to dream big and chase that dream without making excuses or giving up when things get tough.

But financial success isn’t enough. My several attempts to sum up the last two paragraphs of this section have fallen short, so I’ll end with the words of these wise men:

Personal success is not the only impact of living for excellence. Today’s society stands at a crossroads. People realize that the corporate world is not the “cradle-to-grave” guarantee it was in the decades following World War II; however, so many have been trained only to work for someone else, focusing on security and not opportunity. What happens to a society in which a high percentage of people have been trained to seek a “secure job,” but few such jobs are available? Society runs to Big Brother government, seeking the security that government cannot provide. History is filled with examples of governments stifling the entrepreneurial spirit, choking the productive engine of a society’s advancement, and sounding the death knell of numerous civilizations, in an attempt to “help the helpless” citizens. North America stands at a crossroads where it either runs to more and more government, (and in the process surrenders its freedom and future,) or returns to its roots, providing freedom and justice for any dreamer who chooses to prosper.

It’s time to send a wake up call to the entrepreneurial spirits across North America. Where are the entrepreneurs, the leaders, and the dreamers who will step to the plate and swing for the fences – win or lose? The time for talking is over and the time for action is upon us. These are historic times with historic ramifications. Just as the founding fathers did in the 18th century, let’s pledge our fortunes, our lives, and our sacred honor in this noble cause to restore the American Dream. Liberty has sent out its distress signal. Let’s answer the call. Let’s Live Intentionally for Excellence. A life so lived just might be the spark that sets ablaze a new movement for freedom and justice.

 

View all my reviews

About Jonathan

I am a man whose life has been profoundly changed by a beautiful woman, 5 amazing kids, the gospel of Jesus Christ, and Leadership Education.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Review: L.I.F.E. Living Intentionally For Excellence

  1. Alison L says:

    I’m having a tough time really getting into this book too, though I really like the content. I just keep going back to it, picking up where I left off. I can’t wait to read Voyage of a Viking. I’m currently reading Resolved by Orrin Woodward and am loving it!

    • Jonathan says:

      When I get like that with a book I like to put it down for a few days and read something else. Often, the next time I pick it up I connect a bit better with it.

    • Jonathan says:

      Stick with it! It’ll be worth it. Luckily, it’s an easy book to read for a bit, then put down and read something else for a while.

      I loved Voyage of a Viking. Tim Mark shares a powerful story of overcoming adversity.

      I loaned my copy of Resolved to a friend before I read it. He actually asked if he could just buy it, because his 15 year old son loves it so much. He also asked to buy an additional copy for another friend. So I finally bought myself a new copy, and it’ll be one of my next books to dig into.

Leave a Reply

