Review: Kingdom’s Dawn

Kingdom's Dawn
Kingdom’s Dawn by Chuck Black
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Kingdom’s Dawn incorporates Old Testament stories in a Medieval tale. I enjoyed the book, especially for the way it delivers important themes in a way that gets my kids’ attention.

Central to my beliefs about raising children and mentoring youth is that each individual has a purpose/mission in this life. When we understand what our God-given purpose is, we are inspired to learn and prepare. When we are preparing for and fulfilling our purpose, we experience the greatest amount of satisfaction and joy. We will also have the greatest impact for good on the world around us.

This is one of the major themes in the book, and I enjoyed that aspect of it; however, there were a couple of things that bothered me.

I don’t mind incorporating Biblical stories into works of fiction. I wish more authors did just that, but often in Kingdom’s Dawn it was way too obvious and even interrupted the flow of the story. The plot wasn’t very fluid, and I think this may have been a cost of trying to correlate so thoroughly to Old Testament accounts.

I enjoyed the story and the characters, but I found the plot derivative to the point of being a bit distracting.

Still, I enjoyed reading it, my kids like the books, and I think I’ll read the rest of the series.

View all my reviews

About Jonathan

I am a man whose life has been profoundly changed by a beautiful woman, 5 amazing kids, the gospel of Jesus Christ, and Leadership Education.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

